There Is No Online Business Without Internet

The Internet is back

Don Sabado

--

Photo by GraphiDA on Unsplash

I had scheduled my online tutoring services from July 15 to July 19.

I had one client on my own, and one was a referral. My online mathematics tutoring would land me about $400 for 1 hour of tutoring each day of the week.

Monday went well. I tutored online without a problem. But then my phone sent an emergency warning: Wildfire on the island's west side.

No problem!

3:30 pm on July 15, Monday

Public Safety Alert

A wildfire is approaching…Evacuate now

I wasn't worried because the fire would have had to go through four towns before the fire reached my town. If that happened, it would wipe out the entire West Side and the westernmost high school in the United States.

But soon, the electric power went down. It didn't return until the next day. However, there was still no internet service. I canceled Tuesday's online tutoring, thinking I could save Wednesday's tutoring.

My Wednesday online tutoring came and went, so I canceled that time slot. I'll now have to call to see if I can reschedule my online tutoring for Thursday and Friday because the internet service returned at 6:10 pm on Wednesday, July 17.

--

--